Ajna Chakra 


Ajna Chakra is the space where the transcendent consciousness begins. We leave this physical space to go a level higher, to be able to see and perceive that which reaches beyond, that which is unseen. The quality of this chakra is clairvoyance and to be able to see clairvoyantly. 

 This energetic center is also a place where the Nadis Ida and Pingala melt with Shushumna, the central energy channel. The secret sound, being expression of Ajna is a manifestation of the three ayurvedic qualities, sativa, rajas and tamas. That is also a place where the three aspects of consciousness meet: Buddhi (higher mind), Ahamkara (ego) and Manas (thinking mind). 

With this chakra we enter a pathway which offers a freedom from duality and separation.

Our consciousness is so spacious that we are basically connecting to an image in our head and then project it into the feature as if our imagination was a projector and the manifestation a screen where we can see all what we wished to happen unfolding in a beautiful way. 


Main function 

To see and to be able to perceive => vision and perception 



The Ajna Chakra is located atop of the spinal column in-between the eyebrows. The activation point, called Ajna kshetram is located in-between the eyebrows. 


Ruling Element

The ruling element is Light

Gross & Subtle Element 


Color of the Element 




Ajna means form Sanskrit to ‘command’ or ‘authority’ as well as ‘unlimited power’. 

That is a space from which all other chakras receive guidance. 



According to Anodea Judith the activation happens between adolescence.

According to the Hindu tradition the  activation happens between 35 and 42 years of age. 


Predominant Color 

The color of Ajna is violet to indigo.


Ruling Planet 

The ruling planet of the Ajna Chakra is Neptune associated with psychic receptivity, illusion and dreams .



The Knot at the level of the third eye is called Rudra knot. Rudra as a manifestation of Shiva, asks to see every aspect of life as secret, as manifestation of the divine force. 


Associated Gland

The gland that is associated is pituitary gland, a small endocrine organ located in the mid-brain. According to the Hindu belief the Ajna Chakra receives a Nectar which drips down from the above. The pituitary and the pineal gland link together with the optic nerve and fully activate the third eye. 

The pituitary gland is producing important hormones and is responsible for growth, metabolism and reproduction. 


This gland is responsible for manifesting and envisioning. 


Predominant Sense and Sense Organ 



Body Parts Governed

Vital Breath 



The Ajna Chakra is depicted as a magnificent two petaled lotus flower with petals glowing as  a cold moon ray. Each petal carries a secret sound of ha or ham on the first one, and ksa, ksham on the second one. Both of them relating to the Nadis,  energy channels, connecting  both, the Ida, the energy of the moon with Pingala, the energy of the sun. 



The ruling Goddess

Within Ajna is a Goddess, Hakini holding in her hand a white moon, a mudra that grants boons and dispels fears, skull, book and rosary. She is seated on a white lotus and has six red faces with three eyes each. 

The ruling God

The ruling god of the sixth chakra is Shiva, a god of divine dance and destruction. 

Another god that is associated is Ardhanarishvara, androgynous god combining the aspects of Shiva and Shakti as One. 


Bija Mantra 

‘AUM’, is a sound symbolising the entire Universe and in the Hindu tradition representing the holy Trinity, combining the aspects of Brahma (A), Vishnu (U) and Shiva (M) united in One, secret sound. 


Signs of The Fifth Chakra being Underactive

Chaos, difficulty in planning the future, denial, inability to plan, lack of imagination. 


Signs of The Fifth Chakra being Overactive

Often spaced out, hallucinations, obsessions, nightmares, issues with focusing attention. 

Signs Of Well Balanced sixth Chakra

A person with a well balanced sixth chakra has a very strong intuition, great power of imagination and sharp intellect. 



The mudra of the great head called Ksham. 



The Knot at the level of the third eye is called Rudra knot. Rudra is a manifestation of Shiva, it asks to see every aspect of life as secret, as a manifestation of the divine force. 


Additional information 


By focusing on this point, the yogi is able to destroy karma from the past lives. 


Clairvoyance, aura reading, crystallomancy (Seeing the future within a crystal ball), aeromancy (predicting the weather by reading the clouds)


Secondary Chakras

The primal location of Ajna is the midbrain and the three following secondary chakras are considered as shadows of this energy centre.  


Soma - mental clarity needed to reach enlightenment. Depicted as a white - light blue lotus of twelve or sixteen petals along with a silver crescent moon. 

Kamadhenu - lying just above soma, she is a space holder in a sense for Kamadhenu the white- faced cow goddess, known as a cow of plenty and being a bridge between the Soma and the Thord subchakra Kameshvara.

Kameshvara - is a handsome male god uniting with Kameshvari, one of the most beautiful women in, they come together within a secret tantric triangle, embracing each other and coming together in unity.  



Balasana (Childspose), Garudasana (Eagel), Sasangasana (Rabbit Pose, Adho Mukha Svanasana (Downward Facing Dog), Prasarita Padottanasana (Wide Legged Forward Bend)

Virabadrasa I(Worrior I), Baddha Virabadrasana (Humble Worrior), Chakrasana (Full Wheel)



I’m connected with the divine power within me. 

I’m being guided each step of the way.


Essential Oils

Clary Sage, Lemongrass



Amethyst, Blue Quartz, Charoite, Purple Fluorite, Sodalite, Lapis Lazuli, Sugilite