Svadisthana Chakra 


Having established our roots and foundation in your life and on this earth, you are ready to journey to the next chakra Svadisthana, which encompasses the realms of feelings, emotions and sensuality. This extra layers are your driving wheel, helping you to flow through this life, elegantly balancing each situation, emotion and whatever is coming your ways. They enable you to get in touch with your own individuality and reach out to others. 

Symbolistically Svadisthana relates to the sweet waters of life, to the nectar of life, called Amrita or Soma in the Vedic ancient tradition, being an exchange of nourishment with those we love. The second chakra teaches how to create a sweet life coming from the depths of your feelings. 

Its main function and purpose is to let go and create flow. 

Most Common Name and Meaning

Sva - means ‘Self’ or ‘Own’, Adhisthana - translates into ‘Abode’ or ‘Dwelling Place’

So all together translated it means ‘One’s Own Abode’. 



This chakra is located three centimetres above muladhara and two inches below the navel. 


Ruling Element




According to Anodea Judith the activation happens between first 6 and 18 months.

According to the Hindu tradition on the other hand the  activation happens between 7 and 14 years of age when a child sleep between 8-10hours a day. 

Predominant Color 

The color of this chakra is orange and it’s associated with the bright aspects of this chakra as joy, energy and faith. 

The Ruling Planet 



Associated Gland

The corresponding glands are the gonads, testes for the men and ovaries for the woman. 


Predominant Sense and Sense Organ 

The sense organ of this chakra is taste and the sense organ is tongue. 


Action Organ 

The action organ of this chakra are genitals. 

Other organs associated with this chakra: Ovaries, testicles, womb, genitals, kidney, bladder, circulatory system.



This chakra is depicted as a six petaled lotus, in which middle part there is a crescent moon with makara, an alligator like creature with a coiled tail, understood as a constant desire, longing for pleasure which has to be harnessed in order to pass onward. 


The ruling God/ Goddess 

The main goddess of this chakra is Rakini, Chakini Shakti, a two headed, four-armed goddess, seated on a red lotus and holding an arrow, drum, scull and ax.  She is the inspiration of the art and the music. 

Rakini embodies in her form the Kundalini Shakti, the two heads are symbolic to the split of energies between ’T’ and ‘other’. 


Another Goddess connected to this chakra is the Goddess of Sarasvati, she is the Hindu goddess of knowledge, wisdom, art, music and speech. Together with Lakshmi and Parvati, she is a part of the trinity, known in Hindu tradition as Tridevi

Bija Mantra 

The Bija Mantra of this chakra is VAM and represents Varuna as an aspect of Vishnu. 

Imbalance within the Second Chakra

Signs of The Second Chakra being Underactive

Deficiency in the second chakra shows as rigidity within the body and the mind including fear of change, self denial, lack of creativity, desire and skills.

Signs of The Second Chakra being Overactive

An excess within this chakra shows as all kind of addictive behaviours as (usage of addictive substances like wine, sugar, drugs, sex, shopping) and other like obsessive attachments, emotionalism, irresponsibility, seductive manipulation. 


Balance within the Second Chakra:

Healthy sexuality, creativity, general friendliness, satisfaction, vitality and compassion. 


Additional Information

Pleasure principle 

Opening the second chakra means to drink with delight in the sweet waters of pleasure.

Every perfect action is accompanied by pleasure. By that you can tell that you ought to do it. (Quote by whom)

The human organism has a natural inclination to move toward pleasure and away from pain. That is a so called ‘pleasure principle’ by Freud. The pleasure enables you to go deeper into the temple of your body, feeling fulfilled and having a  good basis to fully embrace life, to love and create. In the nowadays world the pleasure is seen as a dangerous temptress, drawing you away from your true path. And therefore it is important to note, that it completely denies the laws of the nature, as repressing natural urges , in this case closing the doorways leading towards pleasure is a huge deprivation of human’s needs and is simply unhealthy.



It takes energy to repress emotion, so releasing emotions releases tensions. 

Pleasure and emotions are the root of desire, by which we can create change. 

Consciousness thrives on change. This is the essence of the second chakra. 

Dance of Polarities 

The second chakra relates to the principle of change and movement similar to a rivers flow (water element), Yin the lunar, feminine aspect and Yang the solar masculine aspect are in a  permanent, circular flow, balancing and containing each other.



Utkata Konasana (Goddess Pose), Badha Konasana (Butterfly Pose), Kapotasana (Pigeon), Trikonasana (Triangle), Pelvic Rock, Hip Circless (emphasis onto the hips area)



I flow as a great river. 

I allow myself to create with ease and grace. 

I connect to the oceans of pleasure within me. 


Essential Oils

Cardamom, Clary Sage, Orange, Rose, Jasmine, Patchouli, Sandalwood, Ylang Ylang; Marjoram



Carnelian (Stone of Creativity, Motivation, Endurance, Leadership and Courage),  Orange Calcite (Stone for Creativity), Tiger’s Eye (Stone of the Mind)Amber, Sunstone (Stone of Leadership), Goldstone (Stone of Ambition), Aragonite Star Clusters (The Conservationist’s Stone, Tangerine Quartz (Stone of Perseverance and Strength)