Anahata Chakra 


The fourth chakra ‘Anahata’ it is all about creating a sense of acceptance and compassion. 

It is through this gentle energy of all encompassing loving presence, that we take decisions and feel a connection to ourselves and others. 


At the level of the 4th chakra we can purify any kind of situation, emotion or a feeling and use it as a filter to make the air breathable again, bringing conscious healing to oneself and the collective. 

Main function/ purpose

The main quality of this chakra is love, love as a unifying force, that keeps all that exists in relationship. The important aspect of it is the self love and the ability to offer this love to oneself, before we go and support others. The logic here is, that only if we are able to truly love and nourish ourselves, we are going to be able to offer this loving awareness to others.  


The Anahata chakra is located at the heart space, in-between the breasts. 

It dissects the body into two parts, the lower and the upper hemisphere, where the lower chakras are linked with primordial themes like physical survival, pleasure seeking and getting things done and the upper chakras, connected to the higher dimensions and the realms of the spirit. 


Ruling Element

Air/ Vayu 


Anahata means 'unstruck' or 'unhurt'


The fourth chakra develops at the age of four and a half and six years of age. It is the time when we start being conscious of our own actions, so that in order to balance it, we need to become connected to love and devotion and all encompassing loving presence, Bhakti. 


Predominant Color 

The predominant color of this chakra is Soft Grey and Tepid Green along with the secondary one, which is Pink. 


Ruling Planet 


Associated Gland

The associated gland is the endocrine gland, which is the heart itself. 


Predominant Sense and Sense Organ 

The predominant sense is touch and the sense organ skin. 


Vital Breath 

The vital breath is prana. 



A smoke gray lotus flower with twelve petals with two overlapping triangles, one showing upwards and the other downwards (hexagram), representing Shiva and Shakti, or Purusha, the supreme being and Prakriti, the matter. In the middle of the hexagram there is a syllable Yam in a drak gray color, above which there is a dot ‘bindu’, representing the deity Ishana, a form of Shakti.  


God/ Goddess 

The ruling goddess is the Hakini Shakti with a rose colored skin, who is seated upon a pink lotus, holding sword, skull, shield and trident. 


The ruling God is Ishana Rudra Shiva, a blue skinned hindu god,  called Ishvara, he is peaceful and benevolent. The river Ganges is his flowing hair, being a flow of self-knowledge    and pronounced ‘I am That’. 


Bija Mantra 


Additional Information 


Secondary Chakras 

Hrit chakra, located at the left side, below of the physical heart. It is often considered as a spiritual heart. It has its own eight petaled lotus, anakanda and means ‘a root of bliss’. 

Each Patel representing an emotion: anger, dullness, evil, joy, movement, sexuality charity and holiness. 

Hrit, means in the direct translation ‘heart’ and it is untouched by material impurities and pure. It is often called Hridaya chakra and means as much as ‘the one which dwells in the heart’ or Anakanda chakra. 

Granthi Knot 

The knot connected to Anahata is Vishnu knot, which is associated with Uddiyana Bandha and connected to Manipura Chakra. Vishnu is a hindu god of preservation, he is the one who asks to untie the knot and allow the opening to Karuna,  the quality of Compassion. 

With that, there is a shift possible, an opening towards being of service to others and less focus on self identity. 


Salabhasana (Locust Pose), Bhujangasana (Cobra Pose), Anahata Asana (Heart Pose), Setu Banda Sarvangasana (Bridge Pose), Dhanurasana (Wheel),  Urdhva Dhanurasana (Full Wheel), Parivrtta Janu Sirsasana (Revolved Forward Bend)



I love myself and others effortlessly and unconditionally.


Essential Oils

Cardamon, Eucalyptus, Geranium, Maleluca, Marjoram, Peppermint, Rosem Thyme, Ylang Ylang, Rose



Amazonite, Chrysocolla, Emerald, Rose Quartz, Green Aventurine