Sahasrara  Chakra 


Sahasrara means 'thousandfold', or a lotus of thousand petals , or it can be translated as the 'void.  

Incripted on the petals are all fifty letters of the Sanskrit alphabet along with their twenty layers. 

Sahasrara is the highest center in the hindu system where all spiritual truths and energies meet, uniting as Shiva and Shakti, masculine and feminine, merging with one-another to become Brahmanada, where brahman means 'the Absolute' and 'ananda' is 'bliss' or 'blissfulness' and it is therefore translated into a 'state of absolute blissfulness', or 'residing within the Absolute'.

The seventh chakra is known as the door to pure consciousness, a place where all the yoga nadis as well as the physical world come to an end. As we walk through, we now get to understand that with all our actions we were longing to dissolve and merge within this higher Truth.  Here we also reach the final kosha, the anandamaya kasha, enter 'the abode of truth and achieve a state of samadhi, In this state we drink the pure nectar of amrita and live as the gods would do, enjoy being alive and in love with life.

What is our absolute nature, how do we create an authentic lifestyle and what the great essence means to us. 

Main function 

Spiritual awakening, thought, energy 


The Sahasrara Chakra is located at the top of the head. 


Ruling Element

Gross & Subtle Element 

Color of the Element 


Sahasrara means 'thousandfold' a lotus of thousand petals and thousand yoga Nadis, or the 'void.  


According to Anodea Judith the activation happens in the adulthood and beyond. 

According to the Hindu tradition the  activation happens between 14 and 21 years of age. 


Predominant Color 

The color of Sahasrara is Violet to Gold


Ruling Planet 

The ruling planet of the Sahasrara Chakra is Uranus. 



There is no Granthi assigned to Sahasrara.  


The nectar of the gods is produced by Sahasrara and received by Ajna. 

Associated Gland

The gland that is associated is pineal gland, a pine shaped gland located in the midbrain, often called by ancients as 'the seat of the soul'. Pineal gland enables visions and all kind of experiences related to higher consciousness, allows a supernatural ability to heal diseases,  makes use of substances which are found in the nectar 'amrita', such as ions, fluids and calcium.  


Predominant Sense and Sense Organ 

The seventh chakra is non physical and so there's no sense organ assigned. 

Action Organ 

The pineal gland. 


Body Parts Governed

Brain, skull, pineal gland, cranial nerves as well as cranial plexus, central nervous system and cerebral cortex


The yantra of Sahasrara is a lotus of thousand petals. Inside of it lies a circular moon within a golden pericarp. A downward pointing triangle rests inside of the moon region. Within this triangle we find the circular abode of Shiva, called the Great Void or Supreme Bindu. 

The ruling Goddess

Within Sahasrara,  the Goddess Shakti manifests as a completion of all her forms. Her final name is Shankihini, whom she transforms into by entering the supreme bindu. The creator of the bliss, cosmos, liberation and the pure consciousness. 

The ruling God

The ruling god of the seventh chakra is Shiva in his highest form, a manifestation of pure consciousness, called Parama Shiva. 

Bija Mantra 

‘AUM’, is a sound symbolising the entire Universe and in the Hindu tradition representing the holy Trinity, combining the aspects of Brahma (A), Vishnu (U) and Shiva (M) united in One, secret sound. 


Signs of The Fifth Chakra being Underactive

Lack of trust, ethics, joy, purpose in life. Often Lost of identity, fear of spirituality, inability to come to a closure, living things undone, unfinished, neglecting bodily needs. 


Signs of The Fifth Chakra being Overactive

Hysteria, depressive states, addiction to a religion, detachment from the body.  

Signs Of Well Balanced sixth Chakra

Trust in oneself, sense of oneness,  selflessness, empathy, intelligent, open minded, follows spiritual guidance. 



Sahasrara Mudra. 



There's no Granthi connected to the non physical Sahasrara. 


Additional information 

Siddhi (Intuitive Abilities)


Secondary Chakras


Sirsasana (Headstand), Padmasana (Lotus Pose), Sasangasana (Rabbit Stand), Savasana (Corpse Pose), Vrksasana (Tree Pose), Makarasana (Crocodile Pose)


Your divine Self is powerful. 

You are a living expression of the source of the Universe. 

Essential Oils

Frankinsence, Myyrh, Neroli, Pine, Lavender



Aura Quartz, Clear Quartz, Charoite, Purple Fluorite, Celestite, Angelite, Danburite